main main songs + releases music the band news + press tours online

[what's new]

<-Prev : Sound of Love Next-> : Spaceboy

Back to the Bootlist index
Sounds of Turnips
  1. Honeyspider
  2. (spoken)
  3. With You
  4. Egg
  5. (spoken)
  6. Rhinoceros
  7. Stars Fall In
  8. Daughter
  9. (spoken)
  10. Daydream
  11. (spoken)
  12. Psychodelic
  13. My Dahlia
  14. Sun
  15. Snap
  16. Love (pre-Gish demo)
  17. East (alternate)
  18. Waiting (pre-Gish demo)
  19. C'mon
Label:  Turnip Records
Track info: Tracks 1-12:   Moon Demo - studio, electric
Tracks 13-14:   Light Into Dark - studio, electric
Tracks 15-17, 19:   1989 - Reel Time Studios - studio, electric
Track 18:   1989 - Reel Time Studios (acoustic session) - studio, acoustic
Length: 00:59:18


Tracks 6 and 10 are not the Gish versions, but earlier demos. The 4 Spoken sections are presented in Spanish on the disc, and translated into English below.

Spoken #1: I always wonder, who am I? Why do I do it? I don't know. It's because there's no other way. Sometimes I ask God and he answers. The simple answer for simple questions.

That's how I see God. As a question.

Spoken #2: My sacred heart. I speak of my heart as if it were an entity seperate from me. I think the same thing about pain. It's like an evil spirit outside of me that's always with me. The pain that I feel is like a weight that guides me. There's no way to destroy it. It's my eternal opera.

Spoken #3: I want to triumph over you. I want respect. I want it all. God will help me to help myself. I don't know. Dreams and wishes become reality. Peace and love for humanity.

Spoken #4: The surreal and suspect dream -- I want to clearly remember it, but I can't. The dream lives in me. My desires control me. My thoughts follow. What is it that stops me from killing, from thinking, from recognizing my destiny? Nothing, absolutely nothing.

Main | Songs & Releases | Music | The Band | News & Press | Tours | Online

copyright © 1999-2024
Section corrections/submissions:
General site info/bugs: /
Get updates on twitter / connect via facebook. Like the site? Order something from Amazon. is in no way associated with or authorized by the smashing pumpkins, zwan, billy corgan, or any of their agents.