main main songs + releases music the band news + press tours online

[what's new]

<-Prev : Gish Next-> : Box

Back to the Discography index

I Am One

[Promotional Releases]

Format DOR Label ID Origin    
7" flexi 1991-08-01 Hut Records none; giveaway UK [1]  
12" White Label Promo 1992-xx-xx Hut Records HUTT 18 UK [2]  

1. I Am One   [1]   [2]  
2. Plume   -   [2]  
3. Starla   -   [2]  


  • "I Am One" is the Gish version.
  • 7" Flexi is translucent black and one-sided, given away to promote both the album and the band's first UK show. On the back of the sleeve was the following text:

    The Smashing Pumpkins have arrived. Their debut LP "Gish" has just been released on Caroline Records, following the Sub Pop single "Tristessa". When the band formed in 1988 in Chicago their first piece of vinyl (an early demo and instant collectors item) was a fledgling version of "I Am One", It is poetic that the same song in its current guise should herald their arrival in the UK.

    The Smashing Pumpkins will be playing July 25th* at London Underworld.

    The Smashing Pumpkins are: Billy Corgan: Guitar and Vocals, James Iha: Guitar D'Arcy: Bass, Jimmy Chamberlin: Drums

    "Gish" Is the Album. "Siva" will be the single.
    * The original date of the show was cancelled, and blue stickers reading "Sept 6th" were used to correct the sleeves.

  • 12": White Label Promo on black vinyl in Hut sleeve (black or blue with Hut logo).

Pressing Info
  1. 250 copies pressed for promotional purposes, though less than half are likely intact today, due to the delicate nature of the vinyl.
  2. 20-25 promotional/test pressings.

Main | Songs & Releases | Music | The Band | News & Press | Tours | Online

copyright © 1999-2022
Section corrections/submissions:
General site info/bugs: /
Get updates on twitter / connect via facebook. Like the site? Order something from Amazon. is in no way associated with or authorized by the smashing pumpkins, zwan, billy corgan, or any of their agents.